Phone: 081 653 5788 | Email:

How to get the Thailand Visa on Arrival (2024 Update)

The Visa On Arrival allows passport holders of 19 countries to enter Thailand without needing to apply for a Tourist Visa from a Thai Embassy in their own country. This will allow you to stay in Thailand for 15 days (30-day exceptions are listed below).

These countries are as follows:

  • Bulgaria
  • Bhutan
  • China (30 days stay until February 29, 2024)
  • Cyprus
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Kazakhstan (30 days stay until February 29, 2024)
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Nauru
  • Mauritius
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Romania
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Taiwan
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu

If your country is not on this list, don’t fret. You will not need a Visa on Arrival if you are from a Visa exempt country. Here’s an official list of all 64 visa exempt countries (countries under the purple box).


Make sure you meet all the following requirements if you would like to obtain the Visa on Arrival:

  1. Be from an approved country.
  2. Be visiting Thailand for tourism purposes.
  3. Hold a valid passport with an expiry of more than 30 days.
  4. Be able to list a verifiable address in Thailand (this address can be a hotel or apartment)
  5. Be able to show a return ticket exiting Thailand within 15 days.** Traveling overland by train, bus, etc to Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia (including en route to Singapore), Myanmar, etc is not accepted as proof of exiting Thailand.
  6. Proof of funds of at least 10,000 THB for single travelers, or 20,000 THB per family during your stay in Thailand. (Bank statements, credit cards, Fx card are not accepted. Must be cash in hand.)
  7. Pay a fee of 2,000 THB upon entry. This fee is subject to change without notice. It must be paid in cash and only Thai currency is accepted.

** You may be asked to show your flight ticket to Thai immigration officials on entering Thailand. If you do not possess a flight ticket to show that you will exit Thailand within 15 days (or 30 days) of entry, you will likely be refused entry.

Required Documents Checklist

Here are the required documents for visitors who want to enter Thailand with Visa on Arrival:

  • Genuine passport valid for 30 days or more.
  • One photo with the size of 4 x 6 cm taken within six months.
  • Provide a valid address in Thailand.
  • Proof of a fully paid return air ticket.
  • Completed Visa on Arrival Form TM88 (you can pick up this form at the airport. However, you can streamline the process by printing it and filling it out beforehand).
  • 2,000 THB fee per person, in cash. This fee is non-refundable.

How do I get the Visa on Arrival at the airport?

If you meet the requirements and bring all the documents you will be able to get the Visa on Arrival.

When you land at the airport follow the signage that will take you to Visa on Arrival (note that photography and videography are strictly prohibited thus put your devices away). There will be a gate that clearly marks Visa on Arrival.

Line up for passport control as usual at the airport, have the required documents ready, and you will get the Visa on Arrival stamp.

List of Airports to get Visa on Arrival

  1. Suvarnabhumi Airport
  2. Don Muang International Airport, Bangkok
  3. Chiangmai International Airport, Chiangmai
  4. Phuket International Airport, Phuket
  5. Hatyai International Airport, Songkhla
  6. U Tapao Airport, Rayong
  7. Mae Sai Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
  8. Chieng Saen Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
  9. Chieng Khong Immigration Checkpoint, Chiengrai
  10. Betong Immigration Checkpoint, Yala
  11. Sadoa Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  12. Samui Airport, Surat Thani
  13. Sukhothai International Airport, Tak Immigration Checkpoint
  14. Bangkok Harbour Immigration Checkpoint, Bangkok
  15. Sri Racha Immigration Checkpoint, Chonburi
  16. Mabtaput Immigration Checkpoint, Rayong
  17. Nong Khai Immigration Checkpoint, Nong Khai
  18. Samui Immigration Checkpoint, Surat Thani
  19. Phuket Immigration Checkpoint, Phuket
  20. Satun Immigration Checkpoint, Satun
  21. Krabi Immigration Checkpoint, Krabi
  22. Songkhla Harbour Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  23. Chiangrai Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  24. Surat Thani Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Surat Thani

COVID and Vaccination Requirements

As of 2024, there are no longer vaccination requirements to obtain the Visa on Arrival.